Union of Canadian Correctional Officers
Syndicat des Agents Correctionnels du Canada
Confédération des Syndicats Nationaux

National Headquarters Canada
Confédération des Syndicats Nationaux
1601 Avenue De Lorimier
Montréal, Quebec
H2K 4M5

Canada Tele Number: (514) 598 2263
Toll Free #: 1 (866) 229-5566
Fax #: (514) 598 2493

Headline News

Current Events, Headline News, and Media

Latest Video and Updates

Recent Video in the news

Current Articles

Local, National, and International Events

Federal correctional officers renew their leadership and their determination

Kevin Grabowsky elected to lead UCCO-SACC-CSN

Moncton, May 2, 2013 — Union delegates representing Canada’s federal correctional officers wrapped up a three-day National General Assembly in Moncton today by electing a new national president to lead 7,500 members working at 52 penitentiaries across the country.

Kevin Grabowsky, who has served as the Prairie regional president since the Union of Canadian Correctional Officers (UCCO-SACC-CSN) was founded in 2001, will now lead the national union for the next three-year term. Mr. Grabowsky takes over from Pierre Mallette, who is retiring after six years as national president.

Mr. Grabowsky begins his mandate facing serious challenges in the federal correctional system, as a combination of Conservative government budget cuts and crime legislation have led to overcrowding, less access to rehabilitation programs and growing levels of violence. Meanwhile, federal correctional officers have been without a collective agreement since June 1, 2010.

“Our job is getting tougher and more dangerous, but after three years at the negotiating table, the federal government still refuses to recognize our profession as an integral part of the law-enforcement community,” said Mr. Grabowsky, who worked as a correctional officer for 34 years. “UCCO-SACC-CSN will never roll over and accept this government’s lack of respect for correctional officers.”

Outstanding negotiating issues include wages, severance pay and medical leave. In December, Treasury Board of Canada negotiators requested conciliation via the creation of a public interest commission.

The union’s fifth National General Assembly also approved a constitutional amendment to create a new position of second national vice-president. Jason Godin, the outgoing Ontario regional president, was elected to this post, which will in particular be responsible for the union’s communications efforts.

Other notable changes: Tatiana Clarke was elected national vice-president, with responsibility for the union’s finances; Éric Thibault was elected Quebec regional president to replace Pierre Dumont, who is also retiring; Rob Finucan was elected Ontario regional president to replace Jason Godin; and James Bloomfield will replace Kevin Grabowsky as Prairie regional president. Doug White was re-elected president of the Atlantic region, as was Gord Robertson in the Pacific region.
“At this crucial time, I am pleased to be part of a very strong team of union activists who are also first-class correctional officers. No one knows like we do what it is to work in a federal penitentiary. I am proud of UCCO-SACC-CSN and proud to represent the people who risk their lives to keep Canadians safe,” concluded Mr. Grabowsky.

National Executive

2017 UCCO SACC CSN National Executive


2018 National Executive

Members of the 2017 UCCO SACC CSN Executive Committee

Starting from left to right

Derek Chin, James Bloomfield, Rob Finucan, Gord Robertson, Jason Godin, Eric Thibault, Frédérick Lebeau, Jeff Wilkins,


Stay up to date with the latest news, articles, and current events in your region


Confédération des syndicats nationaux
1601, avenue De LorimierMontréal (Québec) H2K 4M5
1 866 646-7760